Efrat Mazor_5.jpg

ENTITEY / jason martin

© Leif Norman

Through my experiences as an interpreter in multiples  Canadian companies, I quickly wanted to understand the essence of the work of a creator and build my own choreographic universe.

 

I am fascinated by the genesis of a person, by what defines him at the source, and how this fits into every part of his body, to then translate it into movement. At the start of creation, I launch myself without thinking into a new unknown, guided by the sensory and dynamic dialogue that exists between emotions and bodily responses. I listen, I observe, I analyze… I am nourished by a desire to bring the body to light, so that different virtuosities are put forward in an instinctive, almost inherent way. I shape my movement for a long time in search of the integrity of the gesture, of a total and sensitive physical commitment, of the impulse to the evolution of the form. The body then becomes a communicator of the invisible, the bearer of innumerable personal and universal memories and experiences, uniting us by a causal link that I am trying to expose. This results in works where, like a visceral spasm, the relationship between the performers switches between self-sufficiency and interdependence, vulnerability and relentlessness, provocation and resignation.

The Choreographer

 

Jason Martin is a dancer, actor, choreographer and director. His artistic career began late at the age of 21, after playing hockey for 17 years. In 2012, he graduated from the Contemporary Dance School of Montreal. Since then, he has worked for Canadian companies such as Compagnie Marie Chouinard, Compagnie Dave St-Pierre, Daniel Léveillé Danse, The Holy Body Tattoo, Sylvain Émard Danse, Compagnie Virginie Brunelle, Louise Bébard Danse, Carré des Lombes, the Son of Adrien Danse, Danse K by K or Skeels Danse. Over the years, Jason has also participated in theater projects as a choreographer, actor or director, notably with Benoît Vermeulen, Luce Pelletier, Deviation2Théâtre and the Théâtre à l'eau froid. At the same time, Jason develops an interest in teaching and is regularly invited to give internships to professionals and in art colleges, namely at the École de Danse de Québec, the École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal, L'Artère. - dance and movement art, the School of Contemporary Dancers in Winnipeg, the Muses - performing arts center, the Ballet Divertimento, the St-Hyacinthe Theater School and the Quebec Circus School. Very active on the Montreal scene since 2013, he quickly noticed the importance of forging relationships between artists from different backgrounds. For him, it is about working together to allow art to evolve and flourish in an independent and collaborative way.

 

The company

 

Since 2015, ENTITEY / jason martin has created works that revolve around the resilience and interdependence of the human condition. By relying on exhaustive physical research, the body is perceived as the origin and finality of everything; adaptable, emotional, limitless. The company ENTITEY / jason martin now has 4 professional creations, 5  creations in higher education schools and around twenty broadcasts in Canada, Mexico and Israel; notably with UNTAMED (2016), Falling (2017) co-created with Janelle Hacault, BEYOND (2018) while he was artist in residence at Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers, and (AND) presented at the From Jaffa to Agripas festival in Jerusalem in October 2018. Jason hopes that his choreographic signature will help breathe new life into contemporary dance.

© Guillaume Boucher

Reviews

 @Efrat Mazor

ENTITEY/jason martin

Through my experiences as a performer with Canadian companies, I quickly wanted to understand the essence of the creator's work and build my own choreographic universe. 

 

I am fascinated by the genesis of a person. What defines them at their source? And how is this inscribed into every part of their body, then translated into movement? At the beginning of a new creation, I launch myself without thinking into a new unknown, guided by the sensory and dynamic dialogue between emotions and bodily responses. I listen, observe, analyze. I am nourished by the desire to bring the body to light, where different virtuosities propose instinctively or inherently. I shape my movement over a long time, searching for the integrity of the gesture, a total, sensitive physical commitment, from the impulse to the evolution of the form. The body then becomes the communicator of the intangible, the bearer of countless memories of personal and universal experiences, uniting us by a causal link that I try to expose. The result is works where, like a visceral spasm, the relationships between the performers shift from self-sufficiency and interdependence, vulnerability and determination, provocation and resignation.

Efrat Mazor_18.jpg

THE CHOREOGRAPHER


Jason Sébastien Martin trained at the École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal, graduating in 2012. He began dancing late in his life, at the age of 21, after playing hockey for 17 years. He has worked for Canadian companies such as Compagnie Marie Chouinard, Compagnie Dave St-Pierre, Daniel Léveillé Danse, The Holy Body Tattoo, Sylvain Émard Danse, Compagnie Virginie Brunelle, Louise Bédard Danse, le Carré des Lombes, le Fils d'Adrien Danse, Fila 13 - Lina Cruz, Danse K par K, VIVUS - James Viveiros, and Skeels Danse. Over the years, Jason has participated in theatre projects in Quebec as a choreographer, actor or director, notably with Benoît Vermeulen, Luce Pelletier, and Théâtre à l'eau froide. In parallel, Jason has been invited as guest choreographer and teacher, namely at École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal (Canada), Kibbutz Gaaton Dance Workshop (Israel), Compañía Nacional de Danza (Costa Rica), École de Théâtre de St-Hyacinthe (Canada) and École de Cirque du Québec (Canada). Additionally, he has done collaborative work, co-creating Falling with Janelle Hacault in 2017 and was the guest artist-in-residence at Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers (Canada) for BEYOND in 2018. In 2022, he created étude nO.6 as guest choreographer for the Compañía de Camára Danza UNA (Costa Rica).

THE COMPANY

 

Since 2016, ENTITEY/jasonmartin has created dance works that revolve around the resilience and interdependence of the human condition. His choreographies were presented in Canada, Israel, Mexico, Germany, Costa Rica, Hungary, Bulgaria and Spain and included UNTAMED (2016),  (AND) (2018), étude nO.1 (2020), and Plaidoyer pour l'Impermanence (2021). In 2021, his work étude nO.1 won awarded dancer at the SoloDuo NRW + Friends International Dance Festival in Cologne (Germany), before winning the jury prize in the Certamen Coreográfico 10 Sentidos in Valencia (Spain) in 2022. 

 

AWARDS / GRANTS / NOMINATIONS

 

2022

Jury Prize / Certamen Coreográfico10 Sentidos (Valencia, Spain)

Supported by Canada Council for the Arts / Concept to Realization

 

2021
Supported by Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec / Public Presentation grant

Awarded Dancer / SoloDuo nrw + friends International Dance Festival Cologne (Germany)
Selected for Linkage International Choreographic Competition (Sofia, Bulgarie)

Supported by Canada Council for the Arts / Explore and Create grant

 

2020

Supported by Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec / Research and Exploration grant

 

2018

Selected Artist in Residence at Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers for the 2017-2018 season

Supported by the Canada Council for the Arts / Arts Abroad grant

Supported by LOJIQ — Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec / Arts Abroad grant
Recipient of Compagnie Marie Chouinard Research and Creation Residency Program

2016

Recipient of Danse à la Carte Research and Creation Residency Program

Recipient of Circuit-Est Support for the Artist Residency Program

 

2015

Selected Choreographer for the Projet FLY — Laboratoire de création, École de danse contemporaine de Montréal
 

2014
Selected for Tangente Danses Buissonnières

2012

Selected Dancer and Scholarship recipient / Springboard Dance Montreal

Reviews

"Jason Martin pierces through (…) with high technical skill and large dynamic sensitivity. Martin body-mind is a vessel of dance vocabularies that seamlessly combine into one strong signature. The jury is convinced by the humble, honest curiosity of an inner journey that strives to bring us closer to the unspeakable in our existence."

— Roos van Berkel, May 23rd 2021 / about Study nO.1 / Study nO.1

 

"In the writing of this dancer and choreographer, melancholic accents pierce a more technological atmosphere. The style is elegant, fluid, with a few stills that underline the visual care given to the compositions. The collective paintings are also remarkable as the creator has a precise idea of the place to be occupied by each one, at what height and in what logic of movement."

 Marion Gerbier, DfDanse, December 21, 2019 / about Méandres et Solitudes

"The choreographer Jason Martin then plays on the contrasts between the group, and the individuality of these nine dancers. (...) The artists put themselves to the test and offer a powerful bodily engagement, using sensual undulations, isolations jerky. They gradually become exhausted, and gradually reveal their deep nature. We then discover the artist who slumbers, the being totally purified in symbiosis with his deep nature."

— Léa Villalba, Urban Bible, May 28, 2017 / about Souffle

"Dancer, actor and now choreographer, Jason did not take long to establish himself by his rigor at work and his sharp gestures. We often perceive a good dose of almost animal aggressiveness, although channeled in movements of great precision, all very elegant. It's scalable, human..."

— Simon Lafrance, Urban Bible, August 25, 2015 / about Us

Extraordinary choreographic cooperative
Raw set of great delicacy

       Substance in symbiosis 
ENTITEY

Efrat Mazor_5.jpg

ENTITEY/jason martin

©Leif Norman

À travers mes expériences en tant qu’interprète au sein de multiples compagnies canadiennes, j’ai rapidement voulu comprendre l’essence du travail de créateur et bâtir mon propre univers chorégraphique.

 

Je suis fasciné par la genèse d'une personne, par ce qui la définit à la source, et comment cela s’inscrit dans chaque parcelle de son corps, pour ensuite le traduire en mouvement. À l’amorce de la création, je me lance sans réfléchir dans un nouvel inconnu, guidé par le dialogue sensoriel et dynamique qui existe entre émotions et réponses corporelles. J’écoute, j’observe, j’analyse… Je suis nourri par un désir de mettre le corps en lumière, de sorte que différentes virtuosités soient mises de l’avant de manière instinctive, presqu’inhérente. Je façonne longuement mon mouvement à la recherche de l’intégrité du geste, d’un engagement physique total et sensible, de l’impulsion à l’évolution de la forme. Le corps devient alors communicateur de l'invisible, porteur d'innombrables souvenirs et expériences personnelles et universelles, nous unissant par un lien de causalité que je tente d’exposer. En découle des oeuvres où tel un spasme viscéral, la relation entre les interprètes bascule entre auto-suffisance et interdépendance, vulnérabilité et acharnement, provocation et résignation.

Le Chorégraphe

 

Jason Martin est danseur, acteur, chorégraphe et metteur en scène. Son parcours artistique débute tardivement à l’âge de 21 ans, après avoir pratiqué le hockey pendant 17 ans. En 2012, il obtient son diplôme de l’École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal. Depuis, il a travaillé pour des compagnies canadiennes telles que la Compagnie Marie Chouinard, la Compagnie Dave St-Pierre, Daniel Léveillé Danse, The Holy Body Tattoo, Sylvain Émard Danse, la Compagnie Virginie Brunelle, Louise Bébard Danse, le Carré des Lombes, le Fils d’Adrien Danse, Danse K par K ou encore Skeels Danse. Au fil des ans, Jason participe également à des projets de théâtre en tant que chorégraphe, comédien ou conseiller à la mise en scène, notamment avec Benoît Vermeulen, Luce Pelletier, Deviation2Théâtre et le Théâtre à l'eau froide. Jason développe parallèlement un intérêt pour l’enseignement et est régulièrement invité à donner des stages aux professionnels et dans les écoles supérieures d’art, nommément à l’École de Danse de Québec, l'École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal, L’Artère - art de la danse et du mouvement, le School of Contemporary Dancers à Winnipeg, les Muses - centre des arts de la scène, le Ballet Divertimento, l’École de Théâtre de St-Hyacinthe et l’École de Cirque du Québec. Très actif sur la scène montréalaise depuis 2013, il constate rapidement l’importance de tisser des relations entre les artistes d’horizons différents. Il s'agit pour lui de travailler ensemble pour permettre à l'art d’évoluer et de s’épanouir de manière indépendante et collaborative.

 

La Compagnie

 

Depuis 2015, ENTITEY/jason martin créé des oeuvres qui s’articulent autour de la résilience et l’interdépendance de la condition humaine. En s'appuyant sur une recherche physique exhaustive, le corps est perçu comme origine et finalité de toute chose; adaptable, émotif, sans limites. La compagnie ENTITEY/jason martin compte aujourd’hui 4 créations professionnelles, 5 créations dans les écoles de formation supérieure et une vingtaine de diffusions au Canada, au Mexique et en Israël; notamment avec UNTAMED (2016), Falling (2017) co-créé avec Janelle Hacault, BEYOND (2018) alors qu’il était artiste en résidence au Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers, et (AND) présentée au festival From Jaffa to Agripas de Jérusalem en Octobre 2018. Jason a espoir que sa signature chorégraphique participe à apporter un nouveau souffle à la danse contemporaine.

©Guillaume Boucher

Critiques

 @Efrat Mazor

ENTITEY/jason martin

À travers mes expériences en tant qu’interprète au sein de multiples compagnies canadiennes, j’ai rapidement voulu comprendre l’essence du travail de créateur et bâtir mon propre univers chorégraphique.

 

Je suis fasciné par la genèse d'une personne, par ce qui la définit à la source, et comment cela s’inscrit dans chaque parcelle de son corps, pour ensuite le traduire en mouvement. À l’amorce de la création, je me lance sans réfléchir dans un nouvel inconnu, guidé par le dialogue sensoriel et dynamique qui existe entre émotions et réponses corporelles. J’écoute, j’observe, j’analyse… Je suis nourri par un désir de mettre le corps en lumière, de sorte que différentes virtuosités soient mises de l’avant de manière instinctive, presqu’inhérente. Je façonne longuement mon mouvement à la recherche de l’intégrité du geste, d’un engagement physique total et sensible, de l’impulsion à l’évolution de la forme. Le corps devient alors communicateur de l'invisible, porteur d'innombrables souvenirs et expériences personnelles et universelles, nous unissant par un lien de causalité que je tente d’exposer. En découle des œuvres où tel un spasme viscéral, la relation entre les interprètes bascule entre auto-suffisance et interdépendance, vulnérabilité et acharnement, provocation et résignation.

Efrat Mazor_18.jpg

LE CHORÉGRAPHE

 

Jason Martin est danseur, acteur, chorégraphe et metteur en scène. Son parcours artistique débute tardivement à l’âge de 21 ans, après avoir pratiqué le hockey pendant 17 ans. En 2012, il obtient son diplôme de l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal. Il a travaillé pour des compagnies canadiennes telles que la Compagnie Marie Chouinard, la Compagnie Dave St-Pierre, Daniel Léveillé Danse, The Holy Body Tattoo, Sylvain Émard Danse, la Compagnie Virginie Brunelle, Louise Bébard Danse, le Carré des Lombes, Le fils d’Adrien danse, Danse K par K, VIVUS - James Viveiros, Fila 13 - Lina Cruz et Skeels Danse. Jason participe également à des projets de théâtre en tant que chorégraphe, comédien ou conseiller à la mise en scène, notamment avec Benoît Vermeulen, Luce Pelletier et le Théâtre à l'Eau Froide. Il a collaboré comme chorégraphe ou enseignant invité, notamment à l'École de danse contemporaine de Montréal (Canada), au Kibbutz Gaaton Dance Workshop (Israël), à la Compañía Nacional de Danza (Costa Rica), à l'École de Théâtre de St-Hyacinthe (Canada) et à l'École de cirque de Québec (Canada). En 2017, il co-crée la pièce Falling avec Janelle Hacault, avant d’être nommé artiste en résidence au Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers (Canada) pour la création de BEYOND en 2018. En 2022, il est invité à créer étude nO.6 pour la Compañía de Cámara Danza UNA (Costa Rica).

LA COMPAGNIE

 

Depuis 2016, ENTITEY/jasonmartin créé des œuvres s’articulant autour de la résilience et l'interdépendance de la condition humaine. Les pièces du chorégraphe ont été présentées au Canada, en Israël, au Mexique, en Allemagne, au Costa Rica, en Hongrie, en Bulgarie et en Espagne, notamment avec UNTAMED (2016), (AND) (2018), étude nO.1 (2020) et Plaidoyer pour l'Impermanence (2021). En 2021, son œuvre étude nO.1 a été primé meilleur danseur lors du SoloDuo NRW + Friends International Dance Festival de Cologne (Allemagne), avant de remporter le prix du jury au Certamen Coreográfico 10 Sentidos de Valence (Espagne) en 2022. 

 

DISTINCTIONS / SUBVENTIONS / NOMINATIONS


2022
Prix du Jury / Certamen Coreográfico 10 Sentidos (Valence, Espagne)

Bourse du Conseil des arts du Canada / Du Concept à la Réalisation

 

2021
Bourse du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec / Présentation Publique

Prix du meilleur danseur au SoloDuo NRW + friends International Dance Festival (Cologne, Allemagne)
Sélectionné pour Linkage International Choreographic Competition (Sofia, Bulgarie)

Bourse du Conseil des arts du Canada / Volet Explorer et Créer

 

2020

Bourse du Conseil des arts et des Lettres du Québec / Volet Recherche et Exploration

 

2018

Nommé artiste en résidence au Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers à l’hiver 2018

Bourse du Conseil des arts du Canada / Volet Rayonner à l'international

Bourse de déplacement de LOJIQ — Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec
Récipiendaire du programme de résidence / Recherche et Création de la Compagnie Marie Chouinard

 

2016

Artiste sélectionné au programme de résidence / Recherche et Création de Danse à la Carte (DAC) 

Artiste sélectionné au programme de résidence / Soutien aux Artistes de Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique

2015

Chorégraphe invité pour le projet FLY — Laboratoire de création de l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

 

2014
Sélectionné au programme Danses Buissonnières de Tangente

2012

Artiste sélectionné au Springboard Dance Montreal 

Récipiendaire d'une bourse pour Springboard Dance Montreal

Critiques

"Jason Martin pierces through (…) with high technical skill and large dynamic sensitivity. Martin body-mind is a vessel of dance vocabularies that seamlessly combine into one strong signature. The jury is convinced by the humble, honest curiosity of an inner journey that strives to bring us closer to the unspeakable in our existence."

 Roos van Berkel, 23 mai 2021 / à propos d'Étude nO.1/Study nO.1

 

« Dans l’écriture de ce danseur et chorégraphe, des accents mélancoliques transpercent une atmosphère davantage technologique. Le style est élégant, fluide, avec quelques arrêts sur image qui soulignent le soin visuel porté aux compositions. Les tableaux collectifs sont d’ailleurs remarquables tant le créateur a une idée précise de la place à occuper par chacun, à quelle hauteur et dans quelle logique de mouvement. »

— Marion Gerbier, DfDanse, 21 décembre 2019 / à propos de Méandres et Solitudes

« Le chorégraphe Jason Martin joue alors sur les contrastes entre le groupe, et l’individualité de ces neuf danseurs. (…) Les artistes se mettent à l’épreuve et offrent un engagement corporel puissant, usant d’ondulations sensuelles, d’isolations saccadées. Ils s’épuisent au fur et à mesure, et dévoilent peu à peu leur nature profonde. On découvre alors l’artiste qui sommeille, l’être totalement épuré en symbiose avec sa nature profonde. »

— Léa Villalba, Bible Urbaine, 28 mai 2017 / à propos de Souffle

« Danseur, comédien et maintenant chorégraphe, Jason n’a pas mis de temps à s’établir par sa rigueur au travail et sa gestuelle acérée. On y perçoit souvent une bonne dose d’agressivité presqu’animale, bien que canalisée en mouvements d’une grande précision, tous très élégants. C’est évolutif, humain… »

— Simon Lafrance, Bible urbaine, 25 août 2015 / à propos de Us

Coopérative chorégraphique extraordinaire
Ensemble brut d’une grande délicatesse

            Substance en symbiose
ENTITEY